Nicolas Cadet, MD,CM, FRCSC

Ophthalmologist and Oculoplastic Surgeon – Surgeon of the Eyes and Eyelids

drnicolascadet.com

Published on 18/10/20

Nicolas Cadet grew up on the South Shore of Montreal. From a young age, his mother Dr. Sylvie Cadet (family physician of Quebecer origin) and his father Pastor Jean Robespierre Cadet (Seventh-Day Adventist church pastor of Haitian origin) taught him the importance of community service and of the promotion of holistic health from a young age.

Hence, Dr. Cadet finds great satisfaction in caring for his patients and in giving back to his community through activism and philanthropy. Through the new Cadet Foundation, Dr. Cadet and his wife Dr. Ji Wei Yang, endocrinologist at the MUHC, endeavour to improve the quality of life of people in their community locally and internationally (with a special focus on Haiti) through holistic healthcare initiatives.

Academic background

– Medical school at McGill University
– Residency in ophthalmology (eye surgery) at University of Montreal
– Fellowship in oculoplastic surgery (surgery of the eyelids, orbit and lacrimal system) at McMaster University under the supervision of Dr. Yasser Khan

Industry involvement 

Dr. Cadet is the first and only ophthalmologist of African descent who is subspecialized in oculoplastic surgery in Canada. Dr. Cadet practices ophthalmology and oculoplastic surgery at Verdun Hospital as well as aesthetic medicine and surgery in reputable clinics in Montreal and on the South Shore. He has published many articles in peer-reviewed scientific journals and he presents regularly at national and international conferences.

Dr. Cadet has a great interest for aesthetic medicine and surgery in all its diversity and variety. He endeavors to make aesthetic medicine and surgery more inclusive considering the multiple models of beauty that ethnic diversity grace us with in our multicultural communities in Quebec and Canada.

Dr. Cadet is meticulous, attentive to his patients’ needs and innovative. He adopts a holistic and refreshing approach when he creates an individualized treatment plan for each of his patients. No two surgeries or sculpting injections that he does for a client are truly the same because everyone is different; he will tailor a surgical plan just for you. Dr. Cadet takes the time to listen to his patients to better understand their aesthetic objectives in order to better attain them. When Dr. Cadet rejuvenates your eyelids and your face, he is treating all of you and that it why he likes it when his patients share their dreams and challenges with him.

You can trust Dr. Cadet to help your natural beauty to shine. After all, you are a sight of beauty! ™

Community involvement

Dr. Cadet believes in the importance of activism, philanthropy, entrepreneurship and better access to healthcare for the empowerment of our communities of color. At the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr Cadet founded the Alliance of Black Healthcare Professionals of Canada (ABHPC). Its membership nearing 1000 Black healthcare professionals nationwide endeavour to find solutions to the inequalities and challenges that Black professionals and our communities face with regards to healthcare in Canada.

Dr. Cadet founded the UdeM Haiti Glaucoma Group (UHGG) in 2014 and Oculoplastics Without Limits (OWL) in 2017. Dr Cadet and his team have organized 4 medical missions in Haiti and 6 free annual ocular health screenings in Montreal-North since 2014. Over time, Dr. Cadet has participated in numerous medical missions on 3 continents.

In that same breath, Dr. Cadet founded a medical startup whose objective is enhance the holistic healthcare experience of our communities, with a special attention to marginalized groups. To achieve this, he collaborates with multicultural and multidisciplinary leaders in Canada and internationally.

A word that defines you

Go-Getter

 

« My motto is: to love, serve and empower people. I encourage you to find your own motto and to live by it. By doing so, you will have a positive impact on many lives, starting with yours.»

 

drnicolascadet.com

Nicolas Cadet, MD,CM, FRCSC

Ophtalmologiste et Oculoplasticien (Chirurgien des yeux et des paupières)

drnicolascadet.com

Mis en ligne le 18/10/20

Nicolas Cadet a grandi sur la Rive-Sud de Montréal. Depuis son jeune âge, sa mère Dre Sylvie Cadet (médecin de famille d’origine Québécoise) et son père le Pasteur Jean Robespierre Cadet (pasteur d’église Adventiste du Septième Jour d’origine Haïtienne) lui ont appris dès son jeune âge l’importance du service à la communauté et de la promotion de la santé holistique.

Dr Cadet trouve donc une grande satisfaction à soigner ses patients. Au travers de la nouvelle Fondation Cadet, Dr Cadet et son épouse Dre Ji Wei Yang, endocrinologue au CUSM, continueront de s’impliquer dans plusieurs initiatives liées à la santé globale localement et à l’étranger (avec un focus spécial sur Haïti) pour améliorer la qualité de vie des gens de nos communautés.

Parcours académique

– Diplôme de médecine à l’Université McGill
– Résidence en ophtalmologie (chirurgie des yeux) à l’Université de Montréal
– Surspécialité en chirurgie plastique des paupières, de l’orbite et des voies lacrymales (oculoplastie) à l’Université McMaster sous la supervision de Dr Yasser Khan

Implication dans l’industrie 

Dr Cadet est le premier et le seul ophtalmologiste afro-descendant surspécialisé en oculoplastie au Canada. Il pratique l’ophtalmologie et l’oculoplastie à l’Hôpital de Verdun et dans des cliniques réputées de Montréal et de la Rive-Sud. Dr Cadet a plusieurs publications scientifiques à son actif et il présente régulièrement dans des congrès locaux et internationaux.

Dr Cadet a un grand intérêt pour la médecine et la chirurgie esthétiques dans toute leur variété et leur diversité. Il milite pour que la médecine et la chirurgie esthétiques deviennent plus inclusives face à la multiplicité de modèles de beauté dont nous enrichit la diversité ethnique et multi-facettaire de notre société québécoise et canadienne.

Dr Cadet est méticuleux, attentif et innovateur. Il adopte une approche holistique et rafraîchissante lorsqu’il élabore un plan de traitement personnalisé pour chacun de ses clients. Chacune de ses chirurgies et de ses injections sculptantes du visage sont uniques parce que vous êtes unique; Dr Cadet crée de main d’artiste un plan de traitement qui vous est propre. Il prend le temps d’écouter attentivement ses patients afin de bien cerner leurs objectifs afin de mieux les atteindre. Quand il traite vos paupières et votre visage, il vous traite dans votre entièreté et c’est pour cela qu’il aime que ses patients partagent avec lui leurs rêves et leurs défis.

Vous pouvez faire confiance à Dr Cadet pour mettre en valeur votre beauté naturelle. Après tout, votre regard; c’est un art! ™

Implications dans la communauté 

Dr Cadet croit dans l’importance de l’activisme, de la philanthropie, de l’entreprenariat et d’un meilleur accès aux soins de santé pour l’épanouissement de nos communautés de couleur. En réponse aux défis monumentaux auxquels font face les communautés noires du Canada pendant la pandémie COVID-19, il a fondé l’Alliance des Professionnels de la Santé Noirs du Canada (APSNC). Collectivement, l’APSNC, dont le membership avoisine les 1000 membres, cherche des solutions aux inégalités et problématiques systémiques auxquelles font face nos professionnels et concitoyens noirs dans les soins de santé.

Dans cette même mouvance, Dr Cadet a fondé une entreprise médicale. Il collabore avec des leaders multiculturels provenant de disciplines variées au Canada et à l’international dans le but d’améliorer l’expérience de soins de santé holistique pour tous et particulièrement pour les populations marginalisées.

Dr Cadet a fondé le Groupe UdeM Haïti Glaucome (GUHG) en 2014 et Oculoplastie Sans Limite (OSL) en 2017. Depuis 2014, ses collaborateurs et lui ont organisé 4 missions médicales en Haïti et 6 dépistages annuels gratuits pour la santé des yeux à Montréal-Nord. Au fil des années, Dr Cadet a participé à plusieurs missions médicales et chirurgicales sur 3 continents.

Un mot qui vous définit

Fonceur

 

« Ma devise est: aimer, servir et contribuer à l’épanouissement de mes semblables. Je vous encourage à trouver votre devise et à la mettre en pratique. Cela aura un impact positif sur plusieurs vies, en commençant par la vôtre.»

 

www.drnicolascadet.com