Fabienne Colas

Actress, Filmmaker, Producer, Entrepreneur

President & Founder of the Fabienne Colas Foundation, the Montréal, Toronto & Halifax Black Film Festivals, and the Festival Festival Haiti en Folie

Published on 18/10/20

Recipient of the 2019 Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women award, Named 2018 Canada’s Top 40 under 40, Personality of the Year (Arts & Culture) by La Presse newspaper in 2018 and recipient of Prix Relève Femme d’exception from Quebec’s Federation of Chambers of Commerce (Les Mercuriades), Fabienne colas is an award-winning actress, filmmaker, speaker and business owner who works tirelessly and passionately to support and promote Diversity off and on screen around the globe.

Her primary mission is to continue to create platforms that show a diversity of voices, faces and points of view. As chairman of the Fabienne Colas Foundation, she supports, awards grant and promotes independent films and artists who, otherwise, would be invisible.

Academic background

Executive MBA McGill – HEC (2021)

Industry involvement 

Fabienne is the ‘Queen of Festivals’ who created and manages 9 successful festivals in Montreal, Toronto, New York City, Halifax, Port-au-Prince & Salvador (Bahia, Brazil) to give a voice and a platform to artists who, otherwise would not have been seen or heard. She becomes the first virtual Visiting Artist in Residence in Film and Media Studies at NSCAD University in Fall 2020.

Community involvement

An advocate for Diversity and Inclusion on screen and in our society, Fabienne was also a member of the board of directors of the Society for the celebration of the 375th anniversary of Montreal. She is currently a member of the board of governors of NSCAD University and of the Fabienne Colas Foundation. She sits on various consultation committees for diversity and inclusion, including Telefilm Canada and the Canada Media Fund.

A word that defines you

Unstoppable

 

Dream big! Have a clear vision of what you want and don’t want in life, even if you don’t yet know how you’re going to get there. Because the world will always open in front of people who know where they want to go. A piece of advice from my father that still serves me today. And finally, as Less brown said: “Other people’s opinions of you is none of your business.” Do what you’ve got to do, no matter what others think and say.

Fabienne Colas

Actrice, Réalisatrice, Productrice, Entrepreneur

Présidente-Fondatrice de la Fondation Fabienne Colas, des Festival de Films Black de Montréal, Toronto et Halifax et du Festival Haïti en Folie

Mis en ligne le 18/10/20

Gagnante du Prix Top 100 des femmes les plus influentes au Canada, du Prix Top 40 des Canadiens les plus performants de moins de 40 ans en 2018, nommée Personnalité de l’Année Culture 2018 par le Journal La Presse, et récipiendaire du Prix Mercure relève Femme d’exception 2019 (Les Mercuriales) – décerné par la Fédération des Chambres de Commerce du Québec, Fabienne Colas se donne corps et âme pour supporter et promouvoir la Diversité à l’écran à travers le monde. Sa mission est de continuer à créer des plateformes pour montrer une diversité de voix, de visages et de points de vue. À travers la Fondation Fabienne Colas, elle soutient, donne des bourses et promeut des films et artistes indépendants qui, autrement, ne seraient invisibles.

Parcours académique

Executive MBA McGill – HEC (2021)

Implication dans l’industrie

Consacrée Reine des Festivals, Fabienne a créé et gère 9 festivals à succès entre Montréal, Toronto, New York City, Halifax, Port-au-Prince et Salvador (Bahia, Brésil) pour donner une voix et une vitrine à des artistes qui, autrement, seraient ni vus ni entendus. Elle devient la première artiste invitée virtuelle en résidence en études cinématographiques et médiatiques à l’Université NSCAD à l’automne 2020.

Implications dans la communauté

Militante pour la représentativité de la Diversité à l’écran et dans la société, Fabienne a été aussi membre du conseil d’administration de la Société de Célébration des 375e anniversaires de Montréal et est actuellement membre des CA de l’Université NSCAD et de la Fondation Fabienne Colas. Elle siège sur divers comités de consultation pour la diversité et l’inclusion, notamment pour Téléfilm Canada et le Fonds des Médias du Canada.

Un mot qui vous définit

Inarrêtable

 

« Rêvez grand! Ayez une vision claire de ce que vous aimeriez et de ce que vous ne voulez pas dans la vie, même si vous ne savez pas encore comment vous allez y arriver. Car le Monde laissera toujours passer celui qui sait où il va. Et enfin, comme l’ont si bien dit Les Brown : « Ce que les autres pensent de vous ne vous regarde pas. » Donc, faites ce que vous avez à faire, peu importe ce qu’en disent ou en pensent les autres. »