Carla Beauvais

Social entrepreneur

0rijin Village & Fondation Dynastie

Published on 18/10/20

Carla Beauvais has made diversity and inclusion her priority. Columnist and social entrepreneur, she has campaigned for more than 20 years for a better representation and emancipation of Black and marginalized communities. In order to better equip her clients and enable them to deploy inclusive best practices, she completed with merit a “Diversity & Inclusion” certificate from the prestigious Cornell University in New York. It is driven by the desire to create more inclusive environments.

In 2019, she co-founded 0rjin Vilaj — an initiative which wants to regroup melanated people towards a collaborative goal: unite and prosper. The end game of this project is to provide businesses in Black communities with tech solutions for reaching new market segments and narrowing the digital divide.

She is also the co-founder of Fondation Dynastie, the organization behind the prestigious Gala Dynastie – an event which honors achievements and efforts from the best and brightest of the Montreal Black Communities in the media and the arts and culture sectors. The Foundation also has the mission to equip the next generation through an academy and mentoring clinics.

Academic background

She’s a graduate of Cornell University where she earned a certificate in Diversity and Inclusion.

Community involvement

For more than a decade, Carla has been involved in the organization of festivities surrounding Black History Month as the coordinator and strategist for La Table Ronde du Mois de l’histoire des Noirs. Her involvement has enabled the organization to grow and carve out a place for itself in the socio-cultural landscape of Montreal.

One thing that is very important for Carla is her connection with Haiti. After finding herself deeply touched by the earthquake that had struck Haiti a few short years after—she decided to get more involved with her country of origin. She would co-organize, among other events, the country’s first editions of the Dîner en Blanc, Burger Week and Pate Kode Week (events that created social and economic boost in the country). She would also co-found Konsome Lokal, an organization which seeks to encourage people to buy Made in Haiti products and raise awareness of the role that buying local plays in the future of one’s country.

Industry involvement

Carla’s work, involvement and articles has been published or featured in La Presse, Le Devoir, The Gazette, The Huffington Post, Challenges Magazine, Maman pour la vie, and several other publications. She has been interviewed by media such as Tout le Monde en parle, Radio-Canada – CBC, RDI, TVA and many more. You can read her regularly in Journal Metro and watch her Weekly on the show Zone Économie on RDI.

Recognition

In 2013, Carla Beauvais was chosen by the U.S. Department of State to take part in the prestigious International Visitor Leadership Program. Then, in 2015, she was named by the Montreal Gazette to a list of personalities of the year.

“ Never be afraid to fail. Failure goes hand in hand with success. In fact, I would say failure is the foundation of success. Never give up no matter what are the obstacles. “

Carla Beauvais

Entrepreneure sociale

0rijin Village & Fondation Dynastie

Mis en ligne le 18/10/20

Carla Beauvais a fait de la diversité et de l’inclusion son cheval de bataille. Chroniqueuse et entrepreneuse sociale, elle milite depuis plus de 20 ans pour une meilleure représentation et émancipation des communautés noires. Afin de mieux outiller ses clients et leur permettre de déployer de meilleures pratiques inclusives, elle a complété avec mérite un certificat « Diversity & Inclusion » de la prestigieuse Université Cornell de New York. Elle est animée par le désir de créer des milieux plus inclusifs.

En 2019, elle a co-fondé 0rijin Village – une initiative qui veut regrouper les entrepreneur.e.s noir.e.s vers un objectif commun : s’unir et prospérer. Le but ultime de ce projet est de fournir aux entreprises des communautés noires des solutions technologiques pour atteindre de nouveaux segments de marché et réduire la fracture numérique.

Elle est également co-fondatrice de la Fondation Dynastie, l’organisation derrière le prestigieux Gala Dynastie – un événement qui rend hommage aux réalisations et aux efforts des artisans des milieux culturel et médiatique. La Fondation a également pour mission d’équiper la prochaine génération à travers son académie et ses cliniques de mentorat.

Parcours académique

Elle est diplômée de l’Université Cornell où elle a obtenu un certificat en diversité et inclusion.

Implication dans la communauté

Depuis plus d’une décennie, Carla s’implique dans l’organisation des festivités entourant le Mois de l’histoire des Noirs en tant que coordonnatrice et stratège de La Table Ronde du Mois de l’histoire des Noirs. Son implication a permis à l’organisation de grandir et de se tailler une place dans le paysage socioculturel de Montréal.

Une chose qui est très importante pour Carla est son lien avec Haïti. Après s’être trouvée profondément touchée par le tremblement de terre qui a frappé Haïti quelques années après, elle a décidé de s’impliquer davantage auprès de son pays d’origine. Elle co-organisera les premières éditions  du Dîner en Blanc Haïti, du Burger Week et du Pate Kode Week (événements qui ont créé une impulsion sociale et économique dans le pays). Elle a également co-fondé Konsome Lokal, une organisation qui cherche à encourager l’achat de produits Made in Haiti et à sensibiliser le public au rôle que l’achat local joue dans l’avenir du pays.

Implication dans l’industrie

Le travail, l’implication et les articles de Carla ont été publiés ou présentés dans La Presse, Le Devoir, The Gazette, The Huffington Post, Challenges Magazine, Maman pour la vie et plusieurs autres publications. Elle a été interviewée par plusieurs médias tels que Tout le Monde en parle, Radio-Canada – CBC, RDI, TVA et bien d’autres. Vous pouvez la lire régulièrement dans Journal Métro et la regarder hebdomadairement dans l’émission Zone Économie sur RDI.

Reconnaissance

En 2013, Carla Beauvais a été choisie par le département d’État des États-Unis pour participer au prestigieux programme Leadership Visiteurs Internationaux. Puis, en 2015, elle a été nommée par la Gazette de Montréal sur une liste des 100 personnalités de l’année.

« N’ayez jamais peur d’échouer. L’échec va de paire avec la réussite. En fait, je dirais que l’échec est le fondement de la réussite. N’abandonnez jamais peu importe les obstacles. »